ECMM 2006



European Conference on Molecular Magnetism

October 10-15, 2006

Hotel dos Templários

Tomar, Portugal

Scientific Programme
Olivier Kahn Medal
Presentation Guidelines
Abstract submission
Participants Area
Conference Site
Travel Info
Dates and Deadlines



Olivier Kahn Medal


The Olivier Kahn Medal is a prestigious award created by the European network of excellence MAGMANet, bearing the name of an enthusiastic founder of molecular magnetism. This is an award to distinguish every two years a young scientist (i.e. with a PhD thesis of less than 10 years) who has made outstanding contributions to the development of molecular magnetism in Europe.

The first medal will be presented in the framework of this first MAGMANet - European Conference on Molecular Magnetism, during which the laureate will give a special presentation.


The first Laureate has been nominated

The MAGMANet Network of Excellence and the members of the Olivier Kahn Award International Jury have nominated the first  laureate of the Olivier Kahn International Award: Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer for his  leading role in pushing decisively the knowledge on molecular magnetism to where we are now.

Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer is at present Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in Grenoble and he will give an invited lecture at ECMM 2006 in Tomar.